That moment…

…you realize that ALL the clothes you picked from the racks at Winners to try on are a few sizes too big.

That XL and L are letters that can be removed from your clothing vernacular.

That you have to adjust the way you see yourself – I’m not overweight anymore. I’m fit. I CAN FIT into clothes that I never could before.

Size 8. Medium. Maybe even small. Tight wasted? No problem. Tapered? Go ahead and rock that, baby! Bathing suit? My milkshake brangs all the boyz to the yaard, and damn right, it’s better than yours! (I don’t actually think my milkshake is better than yours. For the record.)

Shopping. Equilibrium shift. Realizing that I got there…to that place that I worked so very hard to get, and I almost didn’t pick up on it when it happened. That just goes to show that ‘that place’ we all want to get; that place we think is going to make us feel totally complete and whole and triumphantly healthy and ‘thin’, is kind of a myth. I felt more discombobulated than anything, to be honest!

I was all like:

“This is too big for me…I don’t understand? Must be labeled wrong, or…oh, wait…OOHHHHH!!!! I’m too small for it. Hmmm…I’ve never experienced this before. I don’t know what to do. I feel like I’m shopping for someone else! I guess it’s time to start looking in a different section. Okay. I get it. I can do this, but it’s going to take some getting used to. So. Friggin. Weird. But. Totally. Awesomesauce! I wonder if that small tank will fit me? May as well try it on!”

And that is today…

And…I’m kinda happy to be sporting these new workout clothes. Look at those muscles! What a strong lady! 🙂

IMG_20130709_063830

Ovr’N’Out

Amber

One thought on “That moment…

Leave a Reply

