shakes for dinner — giving my tummy a break when it’s late!

In the past few days, I have started to prepare health shakes for dinner, specifically on days when I don’t get around to eating until a later hour, say 8 or 9 pm.  Although eating a late dinner is not ideal, a girl must nourish herself regardless!  Having a shake in this situation is a very healthy choice, as it is easy for your stomach to break down the pre-pulverized contents, even when it goes into sleep mode.  Thus, your body is still able to absorb all the nutrients, and the food isn’t sitting there undigested all night, as is the case with heavier foods.

To make it easier for me to prepare shakes quickly, I purchased a huge quantity of bananas and strawberries last week, cut them all up, and placed them in freezer bags so I can easily scoop a few out at a time and get blending!  It is well worth the time and effort to have these prepped!  I always look for bananas on special, typically the ones that are just on the verge of being too ripe.  I managed to get two bags of bananas (25 in total!) for $2, from one of my local produce stores.  Seriously!  They were in pretty good shape when I was chopping them up too!  I don’t think it necessary to purchase pre-packaged frozen fruit, as making your own is half the price and just a small amount of effort.  🙂

Here is a very simple shake recipe that is full of nutrition and very filling.  For anyone who likes the banana/strawberry combo, this shake is for you!

I call it…

Spinanaberry It’s-Not-Too-Late Shake!

1/3 cup frozen banana bits

1/3 cup frozen strawberry bits

1 cup Silk pure almond milk  (or soy or regular for those who don’t drink almond)

1/3 cup strawberry yogurt (2%)

1/2 cup fresh spinach

1 tbsp ground flax

1 tbsp Dr. Ben Kim’s probiotic greens (if you have these, adding them to shakes is a great idea!)

Use whatever setting is best on your blender and mix until smooth.  I always add a bit of water also to thin it out if I find it’s too thick and icy.  This makes enough for one large shake or two smaller shakes.  🙂

Enjoy!

Over’N’Out

Leave a Reply

