My 100th post! And it’s a SUNNY DAY TODAY!

When I logged in to write a post for today, I realized that this will be my 100th post on this blog!  Yippee!  It was around this time last year that I committed to starting 5 Foot 2 and Shrinking, not knowing exactly how it would affect my life or how long I would commit to it — and now here I am, February 7, 2011, 32 lbs lighter, doing my 100th post and still in the game of healthy living! Definitely something to be happy and grateful about today.  Definitely something to THANK myself for.

 

Thank you, self, for sticking to your goals and working hard to accomplish what matters to you. 🙂

 

I am the kind of person that has always charged ahead in life, sometimes out of necessity, or survival, and sometimes just due to my own impatience.  This blog has helped me to achieve a more balanced approach to an issue I have struggled with for many years, one that you can’t really charge ahead in or expect  fast results from.  I have learned patience in weight loss.  I have learned to be proud of myself for small achievements, i.e. a pound or two lost in a month, rather than upset with myself for not getting from A to Z at light speed.  I am still working hard for this and the journey isn’t over. I am 100 posts into this blog and I’m sure I’ll write another 100 posts before I am at goal weight.  And you know what, that’s perfectly fine with me.  This girl is finally learning to do things the healthy way and treat herself with patience and respect.

 

Having said that, there is something I came to terms with this weekend that must be shared and brought to light — I have plateaued.

 

YEP.  There it is.  I said it.  I HAVE REACHED MY FIRST OFFICIAL PLATEAU.

 

I’ve been hovering around the 160 lb mark for months now (since October).  It has a lot to do with quitting hot yoga and not adding enough extra exercise to compensate for that.  Also, I have not continued to aggressively curtail my not-so-great eating habits.  I have known for a couple of weeks now that there are still things I need to eat less of or cut out completely, mainly sugary foods and dairy.  There is a part of me that has been resistant to this because I have already made so many changes and cut out so much that I don’t want to have to cut out anything more.  BUT, weight loss is more important to me than these foods when it REALLY comes down to it.  I’m not saying I can never have French fries or a piece of chocolate cake again in my life, only that I have plateaued and because of that I need to let go of the high-calorie, high-fat foods again for quite a while until I am able to push past the plateau and get to the next level!

 

And exercise.  Well, when I read about weight loss plateaus it seems like one of the most successful ways of getting out of a plateau is to change up and intensify your workout routine.  To be honest, this feels very challenging and somewhat intimidating to me.  I am very pressed for time right now as I work two jobs and also fitting in a social life, a romantic relationship, and hobbies that I love.  Adding more time for exercise outside of the 50 minutes per day at work  I have already committed to seems like a bit too much to ask from me!  And yet, I know I can find a way if I really want to.   It’s only going to make me feel better, look better, and LIVE better if I step things up!  I’m just stalling cause, well, like I said, I’m a bit scared. :S

 

I’m not sure exactly what I’m going to do to accomplish this.  I will need to take a few days to re-organize myself and come up with a plan.  It has to be realistic for me physically, it has to fit into my schedule, and it has to accomplish as much as possible in the least amount of time.  In the back of my mind I hear the voice of healthy happy me that’s saying “Amber, go back to yoga!”.  Hmmmm.  You know, HOT YOGA, that activity that helped me successfully lose 20 lbs in just a few months without drastically changing my lifestyle or diet?  Yeah.  That would make a lot of sense, and yet the frugal part of my brain is rebutting with “but you can’t afford $100 a month for a feaking yoga membership, you hippy!”, to which the healthy happy me is responding “you can’t afford not to!”.  GAH.  Internal struggle lives on.

 

So.  This is a week for making some decisions.  I either need to go back to hot yoga (I would do Bikrams Yoga at a studio near my house this time around for $96/month, which is an even HARDER workout than hot yoga at YYoga) or I need to create a new exercise routine that challenges me more than my current one but costs nothing.  ONE WEEK.  After that, a decision must be made and action must be taken, because 100 posts into the game the reality is plateau has crept up on me!

 

I don’t resent this, I accept it and am ready to do what it takes to get to where I want to be.

 

Any advice?  Pass it along!  5ft2nshrinking@gmail.com!

 

Over’N’Out!

5 thoughts on “My 100th post! And it’s a SUNNY DAY TODAY!

  1. Congrats on reaching your 100th post and your first plateau! Better to celebrate it than moan about it, I like your attitude! After 5 weeks of totally health eating I’m down 10 and feeling pretty good myself. Long way til I can celebrate a plateau, but now that I’ve read your post that is exactly what I’m going to do when I get there 🙂
    Suggestion for exercise: Zumba? …this is not personal experience speaking, but i have friends who absolutely love the work out and are finding it both challenging and rewarding. I haven’t done the Yoga route either in aeons so I can’t make any comparisons but check around and see if any of your friends and coworkers have tried this and what they think.
    Cheers to you!

  2. Oh, I LOVE Zumba! I almost forgot about it actually, but I did a few Zumba classes two years ago at the rec centre by my house and it was so much fun. Hmmm…that is a GREAT idea actually. I should consider a class per week.

    Congrats on the 12 lbs!! Go YOU!!!

  3. My understanding is that to break the plateau, you don’t so much have to do MORE than you are currently doing…just need to change things up! So, I think you are on the right track with wanting to find a new exercise routine. How do you feel about workout videos? You could get yoga/dance/aerobics from the library for free, or download them if you have the techie know-how. What about changing the TIME OF DAY that you normally work out? I wonder if that would challenge your body in a new way?

    Having said all of that, hot yoga might be just the thing for the angst and stress that has been in your life lately, and you DO love it, and it HAS worked in the past. Sometimes the yoga studios have a new-student discount for your first month, so maybe that will be the case with Bikram!

Leave a Reply

