another good one :)

VICTORY IS MINE!

Last week I managed to reach all of my goals!  I exercised 4/5 workdays and pushed myself very hard to break through some physical barriers.  I maintained a very healthy daily eating habit and managed to cut out unnecessary calories…and this weekend I didn’t go overboard either…even though I did have the option!!

In my post from a couple of days ago “the gouging your lies out technique and much much more” I talked about being able to do the stuff that equals weight loss even when you are not in a very good headspace and facing emotional obstacles.  Well, the timing couldn’t have been better for me to process that because the last few days I’ve been facing some pretty big emotional obstacles myself!

It seems that my life is undergoing some changes yet again that I wasn’t totally prepared for and it’s been hard to process all of it.  Don’t really want to talk about it yet because I need more time to digest…but probably it will come up in some post eventually.

Anyway.  I was tempted a couple of times to overeat and comfort myself with food this weekend, but I didn’t.  I think this may be one of the first times EVER that I’ve experienced intense emotions and haven’t felt inclined to food-fix them.  It was strange.  I went to the fridge at one point to see if there was something in there I wanted to eat and then suddenly heard a voice in my head say “I’m not hungry and there’s nothing in here that’s going to make me feel better”.  So I closed the fridge.  End of story.

BREAKTHROUGH.  And it came on its own. 🙂  I’m happy that my brain is no longer associating food with coping.  It makes the battle that much easier, and today I feel healthier and more in control of my emotions and my body because I did not harm myself with overeating.

So, I guess I just wanted to encourage anyone out there who is going through some hard stuff to TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF by eating healthy, continuing to exercise and focusing on all of the best things in your life.  I’m going to be doing the same thing.

This week the goals are the same — to do my challenging exercise routine 3/5 days at work and my regular exercise routine 1 to 2 days at work in between, as well as packing healthy lunches/snakes everyday and getting all the rest I need!  Keeping it simple for the time being.  That’s how one gets from A to B to….well you know.  🙂

 

Over’N’Out

 

3 thoughts on “another good one :)

  1. Hello my sweet, thanks for letting me know you were actively blogging again. Rather interesting topic today considering that I have also have been engaged with my own weight issues and embracing a healthier way of eating, thinking, moving and generally dealing with life. Down 10 pounds in 4 weeks…sounds great (until I start doing the self-defeating ‘only 50 more to go’ lol). No wait…I just lost 10 pounds eating marvelous food, and really not suffering (okay just a little). One thing I have found very helpful, I joined a free site called myfitnesspal.com. Great (huge) community there that you can take advantage of if you feel like it, but mostly, it has daily food tracker to keep your calories in line and exercise tracker which gives you extra calories, etc. etc. I’ve now logged in 16 days in a row and have found it really helps. If you do end up joining and you want a family friend to say ‘yay!’ I’m there. lots of love to you my dearest niece. I’m with you soul and body (teehee). As for the emotional stuff…hang in there, what is life if not a ocean wave. Sometimes so quietly ebbing in and out of shore then suddenly…well, you know where the metaphor’s going. Be well! and Love YOU!

  2. oh…and see if you can find a copy of Calorie Queens, Living thin in a fat world. Totally inspirational and completely realistic (not ‘just another diet book’). I’ve got mine on my KOBO reader, but I think I’m going to pick up a hard copy too…that’s how much value I’ve gotten from reading it (well, that and they’ve developed tons of recipes in the end of the book that don’t really lend themselves to an e-reader – i need to see my recipes on one page in front of me)

    • Thanks for your comments, Aunt! I actually just had that book recommended to me and figure that since you’re the second person to urge me to get it, I just better go out and buy it! Sounds like you are doing amazingly well with your new routine and that you WILL have success. I know for me it’s going to be a lifelong process of making healthy choices every day. It’s the encouragements of all my friends and family that really keep me moving forward in the healthiest ways possible. So, thanks for supporting me! I’ll be following your progress too! xoxox

Leave a Reply

